Julian Willes
Julian Wille
Gründer und produzierender künstlerischer Leiter

 
Der Dramatiker, Regisseur, Designer und Pädagoge Julian Wiles wuchs auf einer Farm in Fort Motte, SC, auf und studierte Geschichte und Theater am College of Charleston (BA 1974). Er zog nach North Carolina, um sein Studium im Bereich Theaterdesign fortzusetzen, und erhielt 1976 einen MFA in Dramatic Art. 1978 gründete er Charleston Stage, die die Resident Company des Historic Dock Street Theatre, Amerikas erstem Theater, wurde. Unter der Leitung von Wiles hat sich Charleston Stage zu einer der größten und angesehensten Kunstinstitutionen der Region entwickelt und umfasst ein umfangreiches Bildungsprogramm, das jährlich über 25,000 junge Menschen erreicht.

Wiles hat über 300 Theaterstücke und Musicals für die Charleston Stage entworfen, inszeniert und produziert. Er hat 34 Originalstücke, Musicals und Bühnenadaptionen geschrieben, von denen acht veröffentlicht werden. Viele wie Der Sitz der Gerechtigkeit und Gershwin bei Folly feiern das reiche kulturelle Erbe und die Geschichte des Lowcountry. Mehr als 100 Produktionen seiner veröffentlichten Werke wurden in den Vereinigten Staaten und international aufgeführt.

Wiles erhielt 1988 den National Youth Theatre Director's Award, 2004 den NAACP Special Recognition Award von Charleston, 2010 den Governor's Award for the Arts von SC und wurde 2018 in die Hall of Fame der SC Theatre Association aufgenommen des Distinguished Alumnus Award von North Carolina.

 

Marybeth ClarkMarybeth Clark
Beauftragter künstlerischer Leiter

 
Marybeth ist in ihrem vierundzwanzigstenSaison mit Charleston Stage. Sie wurde in Pittsburgh, PA, geboren und wuchs in Tolland, CT, auf. Marybeth hat einen Abschluss in Theater/Performance von der University of South Florida und wurde im Alter von 18 Jahren für ihre erste Show in einem Equity-Theater in Tampa gecastet. Sie arbeitete zehn Jahre lang als Schauspielerin in professionellen Theatern im Südosten, bevor sie sich 1994 mit ihrem Ehemann, dem Schauspieler Victor Clark, in Charleston niederließ. Sie war Mitglied der Theaterfakultät an der School of the Arts von Charleston County für Schüler der Mittel- und Oberstufe. Obwohl sie nach Charleston zog, um sich vom Theater zurückzuziehen und eine Familie zu gründen, unterrichtete und leitete sie ab 1997 in Teilzeit für die Charleston Stage, bevor sie im folgenden Jahr ganztägig in die Truppe eintrat.

Sie und Vic sind stolze Eltern von 2 Töchtern, Lila und Prentice. Lila hat vor kurzem ihren Abschluss an der Drew University gemacht und bereitet sich auf das Doktoratsstudium an der MUSC vor. Prentice unterrichtet Schüler mit besonderen Bedürfnissen im Washington Center in Greenville, SC. Marybeth und Vic haben kein leeres Nest, sondern teilen ihr Zuhause mit Marybeths Mutter und vielen adoptierten Hunden und Katzen. 

In ihrer Zeit auf der Charleston Stage hat sie über 70 Shows geleitet, zu ihren Favoriten gehören; Versaute Stiefel, Von Mäusen und Menschen, Mamma Mia! und Elf das Musical. Sie begann das Resident Professional Acting-Programm in ihrem zweiten Jahr bei der Firma und stellt weiterhin unsere jungen professionellen Schauspieler ein, bildet sie aus und betreut sie.

Als Schauspieler für Charleston Stage ist Marybeth in aufgetreten Shakespeare in Love, Helium, You Can't Take It With You, The Marriage of Bette and Boo, Steel Magnolias, A Christmas Carol und zuletzt als Madame Arcati in Fröhlicher Geist.

Julian Wiles
julian wiles
Founder and Producing Artistic Director

 
Playwright, director, designer and educator, Julian Wiles, grew up on a farm in Fort Motte, SC, and studied history and theatre at the College of Charleston (B.A. 1974). He moved to North Carolina to pursue graduate work in theatrical design, receiving an M.F.A. in Dramatic Art in 1976. In 1978 he founded Charleston Stage, which became the resident company of the Historic Dock Street Theatre, America’s first theatre. Under Wiles's leadership, Charleston Stage has become one of the region’s largest and most respected arts institutions and includes an extensive education program reaching over 25,000 young people annually.

Wiles has designed, directed and produced over 300 plays and musicals for Charleston Stage. He has written 34 original plays, musicals, and stage adaptations, eight of which are published. Many such as The Seat of Justice and Gershwin at Folly celebrate the Lowcountry’s rich cultural heritage and history. More than 100 productions of his published works have been performed across the United States and internationally.

Wiles received the National Youth Theatre Director's Award in 1988, Charleston’s NAACP Special Recognition Award in 2004, SC’s Governor’s Award for the Arts in 2010, and was inducted into the SC Theatre Association’s Hall of Fame in 2018. In 2021, he was awarded the University of North Carolina’s Distinguished Alumnus Award.

 

Marybeth ClarkMarybeth clark
Associate Artistic Director and Director of Education

 
Marybeth is in her twenty-third season with Charleston Stage. She was born in Pittsburgh, PA, and grew up in Tolland, CT. Marybeth has a degree in theatre/performance from the University of South Florida and was cast in her first show at an Equity theatre at 18 years of age in Tampa. She worked as an actor in professional theatres throughout the Southeast for ten years before settling in Charleston in 1994 with her husband, actor Victor Clark. She was a member of the theatre faculty at Charleston County’s School of the Arts for middle and high school students. Though she moved to Charleston planning on ‘retiring’ from theatre and starting a family, she taught and directed for Charleston Stage part-time beginning in 1997, before joining the company full-time the following year.

She and Vic are the proud parents of 2 daughters, Lila and Prentice. Lila is a college senior at Drew University in Madison, NJ, and Prentice works with special needs students at the Washington Center in Greenville, SC, while pursuing her Masters. Marybeth and Vic do not have an empty nest but share their home with Marybeth's mother and many adopted dogs and cats. 

In her time at Charleston Stage she has directed over 70 shows, most recently Of Mice and Men, Mamma Mia! and Elf The Musical. She began the Resident Professional Acting program her second year with the company and continues to hire, train, and supervise our young professional actors.
As an actor for Charleston Stage, Marybeth has appeared in Shakespeare in Love, Helium, You Can’t Take It With You, The Marriage of Bette and Boo, Steel Magnolias, and A Christmas Carol.